In your bag No: 755 – Diarmuid McDonald

by diarmuidmcdonald

Posted on January 14, 2014 by Japan Camera Hunter

In your bag 755, Diarmuid McDonald
Naughty Diarmuid has not put a bag in the shot, but thats ok, as the setup more than makes up for it. Come and check this one out.
ImageMy name is Diarmuid McDonald, I am a street photographer currently based in Manchester, UK. I have been taking photos since February 2013, and have only really been concentrating on street photography since July. I haven’t actually got a camera bag, so this stuff all just gets bundled into my rucksack, which seems to do the trick. In the past months I made the decision to shoot only in film, and I have not looked back.

My main camera is a Leica M6 with a 35mm Summicron lens. I am focusing on just using this camera, lens and Kodak Tri-X 400 (pictured) for the foreseeable future of my photography.

I currently use the Leica SF20 flash, either on the hot shoe or on my Nikon SC-17 cable. This hasn’t caused me any trouble from the people of Manchester yet, although some one I photographed made me join them in the pub where they gave me a lecture on the murders and church arsons that surrounded the Scandinavian Heavy Metal scene in the early 90′s.

I also use an Olympus XA with attached flash, this is more of my personal camera to carry with me when I am just on my way to work and am not looking for photos.

The miscellany that remains includes spare batteries for my flash, notepad and pen (to record my wandering thoughts), and a Magnum photographer Photofile for when I run out of inspiration.

At this point my kit is perhaps more impressive that my images, but I am trying to formulate some project ideas and hopefully will have some worthwhile photos in the new year.

www.facebook.com/dmcdonaldphotography
www.flickr.com/photos/momentsborrowedfromtime/

Diarmuid McDonald

Thanks for sharing your…erm…no bag with us Diarmuid. That Scandinavian lecture must have been asolutely fascinating.
Check out the links and make sure you come and comment.

Keep them coming folks, we need more submissions, so get your bag on Japancamerahunter.com. Send me a hi resolution image of the bag (please make sure it is horizontal) and its contents, with some details about yourself and what you shoot. Oh and don’t forget your contact details (twitter, flickr, tumbler et al). Send the bag shots here. Please understand that there is a long wait now as there is a backlog of submissions. Not all make the cut, so make sure yours is funny/interesting/quirky. And please make sure the shot is of good quality, as the ones that are not do not go up.

Cheers
Japancamerahunter

http://www.japancamerahunter.com/category/whats-in-the-bag-2/